The Chaman Lal

The Chaman Lal Memorial Award is now entering the 22nd Year. The award has been instituted in the memory of Late Sh.Chaman Lal, who was a pioneer in the field of Stage Lighting equipment. This society is committed to keep alive the ideas & spirit of Late Sh. Chaman Lal.
Sh. Chaman Lal stepped into the field of fabrication, innovation and development of stage lights when Delhi theatre was slowly waking up to its technical needs. If we freshen our memories, the late forties reminds us, that it was Sh.Chaman Lal, who innovated and developed the stage lights. Besides being in the field of stage lights, he was as important, as an actor on the stage.
Chaman Lal Memorial Society is perhaps the only society of its kind in India, which recognizes the services of those artists of the country, who have never been recognized for their matchless contribution towards Stage Light Designing, Stage Craft, Makeup and Costume Designing. Chaman Lal Memorial Society has had the privilege to honour the Back Stage Artists for the last 22 years. Chaman Lal Memorial Society had the honour of inviting Sh. Shashi Kapoor, Sh. Rajesh Khanna, Ustad Amajd Ali Khan, Sh. Naseeruddin Shah, Ms. Vyjantimala Bali, Sh. Anupam Kher, Ms. Shabana Azmi, Sh. Farooq Shiekh, Sh. Raj Babbar, Ms. Sushma Seth, Sh. Satish Kaushik, Sh. Kulbhushan Kharbanda, Sh. Javed Akhtar, Ms Hema Malini, Smt Sheila Dikshit [Hon'ble Chief Minister of Delhi], Ms Kiron Kher, Tom Alter for the presentation of Awards since 1995.

Chief Guest and Guest of Honour

Padmashree Shekhar Sen

Chairman - Sangeet Natak Akademi

Shri Ashwani Lohani

CMD - Air India


Prof. Ram Gopal Bajaj

For Overall contribution to the theatre world (Delhi)

Shri Viraf Pocha

For Excellence in Light Design

Shri Naresh Kapuria

For Excellence in Stage Craft (Scenic design) (Delhi)